The Beauty of being ethical

english garden

A long time ago, there was a wise King who went into one of the provinces of his village.

“I am looking for a child to raise as my own” he declared. “The one I choose shall have the finest of everything”.  Then, he distributed flower pots among the village’s orphan children

“I want each of you children to do your very best at raising a healthy plant. Each pot contains one flower seed. Water well, and tend to what you’ve been given. I will return to judge your work,  and to pick which one of you who shall be my heir.”

At the end of forty days, the king did indeed return, along with the Queen. Child after child presented him glorious blooms and scented flowers. But one small child, with a quavering chin, stood silently at the back of the crowd.

The king swiftly noticed him, and pulled him forward.

“Child,” said the king. “Whatever in the world is wrong with your plant?”

Swiftly, the queen joined the child, held the plant up over her head and declared that this was indeed the most beautiful plant in the group.

“Why dear,” the King protested. “This plant is nothing but a weed.”

The queen picked up the hysterical child, dried his tears and proclaimed, “But darling, did we not agree I could have the final say?”

So, the king relented, the child joined them on the trip home, and the beloved weed plant was prominently displayed as “Queen Anne’s Lace”

It wasn’t until years later that the Queen revealed the truth of the test, to her son, as he was ready to venture into the world.

“My son,” she told him “I would like to tell you the story of why I chose you above all others to be my son”

“Was it my mournful look, and the sorrow you felt for me? ”

“No, my son”

“Was it my dashing good looks, Mother?” he teased playfully

“No, my son, though you are beautiful.”

Handsome, Mother”

“Of course, my son.”

“Seriously though, Mum, why did you choose me? My plant really was a weed you know…my science teacher told me.”

“Son, no one knows this story but you and I. As I looked out of my window that week, I observed some ruffians stealing and being cruel. I was reluctant to take a village urchin as a son lest some brute enter my castle. The night before the big test, I boiled each of the flower seeds that the gardener collected, and then returned them tidily to his workshop. Yours was the only plant that truly grew out of honesty, not deceit.”

Did it ever occur to you that your heavenly father, who knows it all, has a way of advancing you past less honest and ethical marketers?

He sure does.

In my series “financial prosperity in 2017” I offer a collection of spiritual truths that can ethically advance you in the year 2017.

If you’d like to learn more about putting the divine into your financial life of ethics, biz-book  I invite you to download this free ebook, on “doing business by the Spirit”.

Here’s to playing by rules that work!

Back to Home Page

Care to comment?

